On my spirit.

Sometimes I will just wake up heavy hearted with something.  This morning, Isaiah 41:10, Matthew 6:34, and Isaiah 55:8-9 have been on my heart.  They read like this (in NIV):

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  Matthew 6:34

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.  “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8-9

 

If you have been reading this blog long enough, you know that I love music.  I love words, I love books, and I love music.  If a song has substance to the lyrics, I am all over it!  This song by Hillsong United just reminds me to keep pressing on.

Honestly, I struggle with trusting God with the ways in which my life develops.  That just reminded me of this song, so I have to share it too before I can go on with what I want to “say.”

Anyway, I really just need periods of deep reflection during this time of recovery, challenge, and struggle to just remember what He has done for me.  God has been better to me than I really even deserve, honestly.  Good music helps me get into that Truth Time with Him where I just thank Him for all He’s done, all that He’s doing, and all He will continue to do.

I don’t understand why my life has taken the turns it has, but maybe I don’t need to understand.  Maybe life isn’t about having an answer for everything, but it is about knowing Who holds your life and best interest at heart.

I would have never guessed I’d have a brain injury, nor would I have asked for one, but it has awarded me so many opportunities to reach out to others “like me.”  I have written a blog that made its way to The Brain Aneurysm Foundation, I have made survivor friends all over the world, my Facebook inbox has been filled with messages of “thank you,” “you are so strong,” “you give me hope,” and things of the sort.  It’s really incredible.  I wouldn’t have that opportunity if I did not have this experience.

Last night, a friend of mine called me and told me that he watched The Crash Reel and that I should really look into it.  He said it opened his eyes, gave him insight into the world of brain injury, and knowing that I’ve had my own experience with a brain injury, I would really like it.  I actually can’t wait to see it, just as soon as I can find out when it’s playing.  I think it’s awesome that Kevin Pearce is sharing his story, unashamedly.  He suffered a TBI as a result of a snowboarding accident.  I know for certain that it’s easy to feel so isolated, so different, and so alone when you acquire a brain injury.  I am thankful for people like him who speak out.  :)

I get weary sometimes, but I am still fighting.  I have to stay strong, because my work here is not finished. :)

Hope that you are doing (and feeling) well wherever you are, and keep the faith, keep the fight!!

 

 

Author: Robin

My name is Robin. I’m a Texan. An introvert. Curious, optimistic, loving, caring, and a fighter. I am both quiet and loud because I don’t say much, but when I do speak, I mean it with my entire soul. I’m extremely honest, and sometimes that comes across as harsh, but I’d rather be offended by the truth than protected by a lie. I may be petite, but I have the heart of a giant. I love music, laughter, solidity in friendships & relationships, words, books, sunshine, large bodies of water, the color yellow, and those moments in life when everything just feels right. Here, I’ll share with you my journey throughout this crazy life I’ve been blessed to live. My faith comes first, then my family and friends follow suit. I’ve been tested many times in my life, and I continue to overcome all odds. I will always believe life can be lived well when you keep the faith, keep the fight.

Speak.