To my brain buddies: This is perfect!

I was browsing some stuff on the interwebz, as I’m thinking of going back to school for something related to brain injured people… I mean, I “get it,” so why not help others? I think that’d be awesome.  Anyway, I stumbled across this article and it really just touched me.  It’s so perfect and so perfectly says the words I can’t always find to say, but need to express.  I’m sure y’all will relate, too!  Or even if you’re not a “brain buddy” of mine, it would be nice for you to read it, too to get some understanding on how we operate, now.  It’s rough… But I think if we ( the injured) can explain it then you (the non-injured) can better cooperate with us and help us heal.

 

Here’s the link: http://www.brainline.org/content/2011/07/lost-found-what-brain-injury-survivors-want-you-to-know.html

 

Ahhh, I wish I could just print this article out and hand a copy to every person I come into contact with.  Yes, I look normal, I sound normal, I can walk normally and see normally, too… But I do have an injury.  It is invisible, and I don’t use the fact that I have a brain injury to try and be lazy, incompetent, or insubordinate.  I’m not looking for your pity, and I’m not looking for your judgment.  You don’t understand what it’s like to be in this situation and I pray that you never do.

 

I’m not mad, just trying to let y’all know where we’re coming from. :)  God bless you all!

Author: Robin

My name is Robin. I’m a Texan. An introvert. Curious, optimistic, loving, caring, and a fighter. I am both quiet and loud because I don’t say much, but when I do speak, I mean it with my entire soul. I’m extremely honest, and sometimes that comes across as harsh, but I’d rather be offended by the truth than protected by a lie. I may be petite, but I have the heart of a giant. I love music, laughter, solidity in friendships & relationships, words, books, sunshine, large bodies of water, the color yellow, and those moments in life when everything just feels right. Here, I’ll share with you my journey throughout this crazy life I’ve been blessed to live. My faith comes first, then my family and friends follow suit. I’ve been tested many times in my life, and I continue to overcome all odds. I will always believe life can be lived well when you keep the faith, keep the fight.

2 thoughts on “To my brain buddies: This is perfect!”

  1. Wow, thanks for sharing this link! I had a mild TBI a couple years ago and it would have been so great to be able to explain all this to everyone when it was going on. Now I have Hydrocephalus and at times the extra pressure on the brain mimics the TBI. Although your situation is far more severe than mine, it is really nice to know I am not the only one out there with “brain issues”. Seeing how tight you are with Jesus and how strong you are is helping me keep hope. I pray God continues to help you through this journey. Thanks, Kristi

    1. You’re welcome!! It’s a difficult road, we walk, the road of brain injury. I’m very thankful that I did not have hydrocephalus, thus no shunt implant for me! That has got to be difficult, though. Aww, thank you!! God is so good, I can’t help but to praise Him and spread the truth of His works and the good that He has done and continues to do for me, everyday! I’ll be praying for you, too, Kristi. Thank you for stopping by and reading! I apologize I’m a little late in getting back to your comment, but I kind of forget to check on here haha. I’m just now working on a post for my readers. :)

Speak.